Review and Testimonials

“The Best!”
30 December 2012
I have been eating Indian Restaurant Food for over 30 years, and I have to say that the Food in The Mogul Restaurant, is probably the best I have ever tasted. The Waiters are Faultless, always smiling and ready to help with whatever you ask for, the restaurant is comfortable and well laid out, look no further, in my opinion, this is the top of the tree for Indian Restaurant Food, Well Done to the Staff of the Mogul,
“Little India in Ongar”
12 December 2012
A really good restaurant with tip top service, a superb menu (I recommend the duck) and a fair price. With your popadoms you must taste their own special salsa - it is perfectly delicious. We generally don't have a starter as their portions for the main meal are very generous. Food is always freshly cooked so you have to wait for it but believe me it is well worth the wait.
“Has to be the best Indian Food in Essex!”
10 December 2012
I cannot rate this highly enough, the fresh ingredients beautifully prepared and cooked to perfection was a revelation. The staff were attentive and helpful, and I took their advice on the type of Biriani and was not diappointed....try the special, its something else. Cant wait to impress friends by visiting here again.
“By far the best Indian Restaurant!”
15 November 2012
The food is exceptional at the Mogul, far from your traditional Indian Restaurant. Outstanding presentation skills and customer service is phenomenal. They make you feel welcomed and are very friendly.
The food is always fresh and the portions are generous. It is well worth your money. Furthermore the taste of the food is mouth watering and have unique dishes that other Indian Restaurants don’t provide, as you have a choice between traditional and modern Indian cuisines.
Highly recommend this place. One of my favourite places. Love it
“The Best Indian Restaurant , Not to be missed”
10 November 2012
The Mogul is in a class of it's own. This is not your usual run of the mill indian restaurant, the menu has a lot of dishes you would not expect to find on your local high street. The dishes are all freshly prepared with great attention to detail. The portions are very generous and the staff are always willing to let you take the leftovers home ! I have recommended this restaurant to friends from all over Essex and east London and not one has ever been disappointed. it is a veritable jewel of a restaurant, for whatever event you want to celebrate, and very reasonably priced.
“Super smashing great”
23 September 2012
Top quality food really good service lovely atmosphere, best Indian I have had and will be returning
“Outstanding”
16 September 2012
Interesting menu, lots of unusual dishes, great presentation. Very good cooking and service. What more could you want?
“The Best Indian Restaurant I Have Visited for Many Years!”
28 August 2012
Very varied menu with many original and interesting items explained with enthusiasm by attentive very willing staff; the King Prawn Raja I had was magnificent, with prawns truly the size of small lobsters, following a delicious starter of succulent scallops in a fine creamy mildly spiced sauce. My companions enjoyed their choices similarly and the special biryani was exceptional. Also very good value for money (total including 1 or 2 Cobra beers each) about £20 per person. Worth visiting Ongar to eat at The Mogul alone.
“Just Amazing!”
20 August 2012
I do not write many reviews, however, I could not hold back on this fabulous family run Indian restaurant. The place is run by 2 brothers and I booked this restaurant for my wife’s birthday as I wanted something special for her. We are unable to get out much due to young children so it was really important that we would not be disappointed. I must just say that I had not been to The Mogul before and after doing some research on Trip Advisor and from a couple of personal recommendations, I decided I would give them a go. When I booked the table, Rony, (one of the brothers ) could not go out of his way more once explained to him what I wanted to do and he was so helpful in every way. For a non regular, I was treated like someone who had been every week.
Once the evening came, I couldn’t of asked for more. The food was superb ( a refreshingly different menu with some exceptional dishes that you won’t find in your regular Indian, let’s say.. fine dining without a fine dining price ), the ambiance, just right, waiters friendly and although busy, Rony still made time to explain the menu, help pick dishes and came over for a chat when able but never intrusive.
I have been to many restaurants over my time, and have to say this is by far a truly great restaurant. Of course, there are other good Indian restaurants in the area, but The Mogul offers something different in their unusual and varied menu ( things that you don’t find in the traditional curry house ) and the friendly staff and in particular the two young owners make it a cut about the rest.
I cannot wait to go back!
Thank you guys.
“Simply The Best”
24 March 2012
Excellent attention to detail and service, not to mention the varied, wonderful dishes on offer, mean that The Mogul really is "A Touch of Class above All Others". The owners, Johnny and Ronnie (aged 34 and 30 respectively) go that extra mile to make everything perfect, with nothing being too much trouble for them. We often just go with their recommendations for new and intersting dishes, which are always fabulous. The Bengal Biryani is truly sensational, giving a real and authentic insight into the multi-layered joys of Indian Cuisine. We first went there at the inception of The Mogul in 2005 and have returned weekly since then.....it's that good!
“fine dining indian style”
23 February 2012
well i was getting fed up with the same old indian food i you are to go here. the owners son is called jonny we left it up to him to order he asked what we liked eg spicy garlic fish meat etc and he then started to serve the best indian dining experince ive had. for starters we had a lovely presented plate of 6 tastes from scalops through to a spicy chicken wrap it was a great start.he then brought up a glass of drambuie which is completly diffrent but realy refreshed the pallet. then the mains came in tilapia spicy fish curry my fav roast chicken a biryani with a sealed nan lid the smell of it was lovley a duck course with a creamy sauce king prawns in a batter with another splended sauce a chopped salad with a great texture the best nans ive ever tasted. jonny was great he explained all the dishes with pride and enthusiasm i 100 percent recomend this place give it a go
“Excellent”
February 2012
These guys look after me time and time again, with great - now personalised service, and food better than you will expect. Cant say i've had a bad one yet, and I've had many. Its not the cheapest Indian you will find, but then did you want that? makes me hungry to think about it!
“word to describe The mogul...! AMAZING! ”
6 January 2012
I absolutely love this restaurant; it is definitely one of my top 5 Indian restaurants to dine at. The food is divine and the menu is regularly being updated so it’s always exciting trying the new dishes out. The few times I have been there the manager was also present and the service couldn’t have been any better, the staff are very welcoming and go the extra mile to make sure that I was satisfied. I was intrigued of how smiley they were, really sets a good mood. The price is reasonable and affordable if anything it is comparably cheap for the really tasty food on offer. I was lucky to go to the restaurant on a day where I was able to taste the new cocktails that will be launching at the mogul. I recommend everyone to go and have a taste of these when they have been launched, they are certainly unusual and taste something you would get in central London in a top bar, I can’t wait to go there again with my friends.
“A really good Restaurant”
3 January 2012
This restaurant had quite a difficult birth, it was up against some established opposition in the shape of Kismet next door, with typical flock wallpaper, and glow in the dark dishes, Kismet was every thing I hated about Indian cuisine. Enter The Mogul, a light airy, establishment with a wonderful choice of dishes, each individual, by this I mean that they all looked and tasted different, brilliant. The Mogul has been open a few years now and Kismet is no more, but the food is still very good. The service is excellent even when busy, and the waiters are always happy to help you choose, if you have not tried something before. I would highly recommend this restaurant, I have eaten in there many times, and always had great food, and brilliant service. Even the takeaway service is a joy to use!!
“Mogul, Absolutely the best”
10 November 2011
Absolutely the best Indian restaurant I have found (not in India!). The staff are always polite, courteous and take the time to remember your name and preferences. Immediately you feel like you're 'at home'. I recommend this restaurant all the time and have never heard a criticism. After moving out of the town, I now find myself driving quite a way... but it is well worth it!!!
“Excellent”
November 2011
This is one of the best Indian restaurants I've eaten at - the food is delicious - taste freshly made with truly fresh ingredients. Would definitely recommend, also prices seem reasonable and the staff were very accommodating even though we arrived without a reservation and they were clearly fully booked, but created a table for us. A***** in my opinion!
“Excellent”
September 2011
The best curry in Ongar, great service, friendly staff, well worth a visit.